Eighteen U.S. states allow same-sex adoption

More than 104,000 youth in the U.S. foster care system are awaiting permanent families. According to a report by the Williams Institute, in 2007 there were 270,000 children in the U.S. who lived with same-sex couples. Of these, one-quarter, or 65,000, were adopted.

According to a June 2011 report issued by the National Center for Lesbian Rights (NCLR), the following states have established laws (either through statutes or published appellate court opinions) that explicitly allow same-sex couples to adopt, either through a second parent adoption, domestic partner adoption or civil union adoption:California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington.

The Children’s Bureau, within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, funds the initiative each November in partnership with AdoptUSKids and Child Welfare Information Gateway as a way to focus public attention on the urgent need for more adoptive families for children and youth waiting in foster care for a permanent family.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: